Quantcast Patient Referral

Blog: Hospice & Palliative Care Insights


Caring More: Honoring Leading Social Workers

Imagine dedicating your career to some of the most difficult moments in a person’s life. Being the one to guide patients through the progression of their illnesses, to explain to family members what it means to deal with a terminal disease, to secure resources for patients, to visit the community and advocate for the underserved. That means making a decision to care more, every day, without expecting a reward.

These Fab Five Care More

They believe that they should fight for what’s right, that life’s hardships make them stronger, and that they can single-handedly change the world. The five recipients of our “Caring More Award” are truly exceptional social workers, who stand out in a field of selfless givers. Selected from 15 finalists, each of this year’s winners was recognized at a breakfast ceremony in her honor during National Social Work Month. Surrounded by family, friends and colleagues, the winners received accolades and a crystal trophy, and Crossroads made a $500 donation to the non-profit of her choice.
CMA2015.Charities.P1 (1).jpg

Charities That Inspire Our Caring More Award Nominees

The Caring More Award is designed to thank the special social workers who help others, all the time. This year, the addition of the Community Favorite Award gives you the chance to vote for your favorite nominee to receive an extra $500 donation to the non-profit that is closest to their heart and help them continue that service for others. Read about the inspiration behind these causes and then vote for your favorite.

You Be The Judge: The CMA Community Favorite Award

Introducing the Community Favorite Award: a brand new addition to the CMA that will give extra recognition to our social work superstars, and give YOU the chance to be heard. For the first time ever, we’re asking you to decide which nominee deserves a $500 donation to their favorite non-profit. This is your chance to give a special thank you for their contributions to the community.
CMA2015.HearFrom2014.FernandoHarrold.P2.jpg (1)

Winning The CMA: How Last Year’s Recipients Care More

Since 2010, Crossroads Hospice has recognized 34 outstanding social workers with the Caring More Award. Every year, we are blown away by the nominees’ passion for serving patients and their communities. But only one nominee from a site takes home the top prize. So what does it take to win? To understand how truly incredible a nominee has to be to receive the award, look no further than these standouts from last year.